Are you a self-starter or a self-finisher?

In the language of my real job. Aka the one I have to show up to every morning, it’s known as being a ‘self-starter’. I’ve often wondered how a person really is supposed to parse that into a functional state of being.

Sure I could say I’m a self-starter, in effect I do qualify. However if I wanted to be technically correct, I would have classify myself more as ‘the idea girl.” I’m great at ideas at work – how to make things work better, faster, more simply. KISS is my motto.

When it comes to writing, I’m the idea girl as well. I’ve got a million (ok maybe not that many) ideas, beginnings, endings rolling around in my head. I think the more important question that should be asked of people like me is. “Are you a self-finisher?”

Not so much!

I can finish my projects, but they seem to drain the life out of me. Especially when the idea monkey is jabbering away inside my head, hopping up and down with the NEW SPARKLY ideas that are desperate to see the light of day.

My new experiment on an idea I have *yes a writing idea* is I’m for sure going to break one of those million writing rules that I’ve yet to learn, and write my next story from the end to the beginning. Take that you self-finisher people!

P.S. I’ll hand in my report later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

